President's Award


Eligible nominees for a President’s Award are elected officials in California state government who are serving a term in office at the time of their nomination. They must meet one or more of the following criteria:
Shown past evidence in support of California museums, including: art museums; historical societies; zoos and aquaria; botanical gardens; cultural centers; science centers; and natural history museums. 
Demonstrated a continuing commitment to museums in California;
Supported, attended, or hosted functions at California museums or otherwise shown publicly their support of museums in their local district;
Made contact with other legislators on behalf of California museums and/or issues affecting them; and/or
Served (or are currently serving) on a board or committee with direct impact on museums.


Members of the California Association of Museums (CAM) Board of Directors and Government Relations Committee nominate legislators who they believe meet the criteria listed above. In consultation with CAM’s Government Relations Committee and Executive Director, the President selects the recipient(s) based on adherence to the criteria. 


2004 Senator John Burton
2005 Senator Christine Kehoe
Assemblyman Mark Leno
2006 Assemblyman John Laird
2007 Senator Alan Lowenthal
Assemblyman Pedro Nava
2008 Assemblyman Mike Villines
2009 [None selected]
2010 Assemblyman Anthony Portantino
2011       Senator Curren Price
               Assemblywoman Nora Campos
2012 [None selected]
2013 State Superintendent of Public Instruction Tom Torlakson
Assemblywoman Toni Atkins
2014 Assemblyman Wesley Chesbro
2015 Assemblyman Ian Calderon
2016       Assemblyman Richard Bloom
2017       [none selected]

2018       Assemblyman Eduardo Garcia